Are we getting to a point where stills are no longer an accurate representation or does this really matter?

Shot on my iphone 5 through the viewfinder of a nikon spotting scope last night.

Shot on my iphone 5 through the viewfinder of a nikon spotting scope last night.

 

Hi Alex

I went to the movies last night to see “Man of Steel” and was smitten by the great “look” the film has. Particularly the stuff shot around the home Farm.

I did some googling this morning and found some stills from Clay Enos.

What I found amazing was the difference in some of the stills to how the film looked after post production.

John

 

Good Question from John…

I don’t know does it really matter??? Gone are the times when a photographer stood next to the movie camera and shot only what they shot!! And it was what you might of dais was an exact representation of a film. Once this was considered acceptable for marketing material. This asks the bigger question what are we there for – That is a photographer on a film set – Well I am in no doubt – to provide the images that will successfully market and publicize the movie I am working on. That’s my concern – column images and memorable definitive images that get people through the door – do I care if they look the film – NO – to be quite honest hopefully they look better – composition wise I should expect so!!!– As for grading – look and density etc. That’s subjective.

Leave a comment