Make an effort…. For your own sake…

I did a lecture the other day to a group, about 20 +, of media students, degree level so aged early 20’s . Over the last few years I have done a few now so I am fairly relaxed about my approach. I tend to make it up a bit as I go along with a collection of images, posters and stills on my computer displayed onto a screen that I keep up to date so relevant. This approach allows me the freedom to engage with the students and adapt it to their particular needs. Fortunately I have a large repertoire to draw on!!! From a media students point of view particularly as I can talk photography and I can talk film making, lots to talk about, lots of questions? Or so you would think? Working on the basis the talk had been billed as interactive an opportunity to meet and engage with a film industry insider there was plenty of time for them to do a little research. Hell its not hard to find me on the internet and lets face it in these days of youngsters face down into computers and mobile devices all day how hard can it be to find 5 mins to take an interest???? … Make a little effort … Obviously to tough as after 2 hours of wading through mud ….. few if any questions (other than from 3 people in the class)  I eventually asked the class how many had looked me up, looked at my work? Checked me out on the internet… the dismal and disappointing answer was NO hands up … Nil points . yes that’s right a hole class who are pinning their hopes on a career in media and  paying £6000 ($10,000) + plus in fees a year. They had not made one moments effort to find out more about a person who has  made a success in their own chosen area. What hope? NONE! So that’s it for me… No more lectures.. No more wasting my time preparing a lesson and driving across the UK to deliver it to a group of people that make no effort in return. The only benefit I gained was a reminder to myself as to  why I have got where I am today and all those in a similar position to me. We make an effort and continue to do so. We work at it and keep working at it to get on in this world with our chosen profession.

9 thoughts on “Make an effort…. For your own sake…

  1. I’m a student studying press and editorial photography at falmouth. I follow your blog and read your posts every time they enter my inbox. I want to become a stills photographer and love the work that you do, so because of one university I could now miss out on an opportunity to meet you and listen to how you became such a success. I don’t really see how that’s fair!

  2. Alex if it is any consolation to you, I would gladly drive a half day to see you speak or share a pint with you if you were in the U.S.

    They don’t realize how lucky they were to have you!

  3. Alex I’m on your side 100% the little sh ts in education these days don’t know how lucky they are. I trained for my job got a degree and had an active interest in my subject. I wish I had started younger in film that was my dream, it never happened for me. But I know who you are and respect you for it. I had an email from David James the other day and Seamus Mcgarvey I know my networking, and I took the time to know who is who. I tried to get represented by Barbara Larkin but she wasn’t interested, so I have no time for her if she won’t make an effort for new and experienced photographers. I’m looking at retiring soon, just yesterday I took my video camera to Crufts to support my girlfriend who was entering, she got two first and two seconds, who came running after me for the footage, Channel 4 TV, Kennel Club and most of the entrants. So it goes to show, turn up know what your doing doesn’t matter about the subject, get paid. Pity it wasn’t a Bond Film but I’m not best friends with Francois Duhammel. So don’t be to downhearted, and only deal with those that are interested. Next time your doing a seminar let me know I’ll be there. With lots of support and respect.

  4. Hi Alex , Sorry for your experience as I know the effort you would put in to teach encourage and explain to younger people who one would hope are interested in your experience in the industry. I think it’s a reflection of the next generation who don’t appear to research or do any kind of background work before meetings or lectures . I have flurries of emails from assistants requesting work stating interests in fashion and location ( I shoot still life and food ) claiming to love my work when it becomes apparent they have never looked at my website . Like yourself I have a reasonable web presence and can easily be googled. One assistant claimed to be an expert in my digital system and then on arrival had never seen a cambo stand or a hasselblad back or my software phocus, he just assumed that I shot phase one. I ponder wether this is because there is so much education now that people don’t think they need to listen to the voice of experience…However in NYC folio view there were 150 photographers mostly older than me who had not researched any accounts the art buyers had or followed them on twitter or linked in before hand which I had. Is it self importance that stops people caring and researching or that they don’t really need it as much as others wether that’s a financial need or a passion is irrelevant it’s just a desire to listen and learn from masters not just a text book……..
    Rant over ….
    Liz

  5. That is a great reminder and story, Mr. Bailey. And I agree with Mr. Clegg, I would love to spend the day, and/or be at a lecture such as that. It’s a shame for those students. Oh well.

  6. Did you speak to the course tutor/lecturer about how you felt the talk went? Do you think it would be worth providing feedback to them?

    • Hi Visha – thank you for your support and contribution – Delighted to hear that you are getting on so well. And yes I did speak to the Course Tutor who admitted that he also struggled with keeping the majority of the students engaged and motivated…. Oh well!!!! Good luck Alex

  7. Great learning opportunity lost for those students! If only they would know who was talking to them! Alex you should make some seminars for people who are interested in the movie stills photography! I’ll definitely sign in so as many others!

    Robert

Leave a comment